Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
A co-commission by ILIOS 2002 and Resound@BBCNOW

Schizophonia uses ISDN communications technology to bring together three simultaneous live performances in different locations, creating a fourth virtual performance on the Internet. The 50 minute piece addresses fundamental conflicts in the spread of digital communications alongside issues of acoustic ecology. The vocal music makes reference to composer R. Murray Schafer's The New Soundscape, Sean Cubitt's Digital Aesthetics, Walt Whitman's poem Vocalism from Leaves of Grass, and internet-guru Esther Dyson's Release 2.1.


Ensemble 1 - Wind Band (pc, fl ob, cl, tsax, bsn, trp, tbn,)
Ensemble 2 - String Orchestra (vl1, vl2, vl3, vl4 va1, va2, vc1, vc2 db)
Ensemble 3 - 4 soloists (SATB) and Choir (SATB)

3 Continuo Soloists / Directors:
Mallet Instruments (Ensemble 1)
Acoustic doubling Fretless Bass (Ensemble 2)
Keyboards (Ensemble 3)

Electroacoustic Media

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.