Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Rising Falling Hovering
For Solo Piano.
This is the first of a series of works that respond to new descriptions of the core elements of music devised by Sam Richards as reference points for his unique ensemble compositions. Richards has described rhythm as 'rate of change, harmony as 'what happens together' and melody as 'rising, falling, hovering'.

In realising the musical nature of Rising, Falling, Hovering a pattern from the Tritone Progression section of Nicholas Slonimsky's Thesaurus of Scales and Melodic Patterns has been used. Pattern 5 interpolates two notes onto the bi-section of an octave. This pattern is then organised into a series of different forms. The notation to the right shows the tonalities of Rising, Falling, Hovering along with corresponding data for the computer composition language Symbolic Composer, in which the piece was written.

Notation of tonalities used in Rising, Falling, Hovering.

Page << | 1 | 2 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.