Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
After Hindemith
For piano trio.

Writers, poets and visual artists regularly make reference to masterworks of the past and those who created them. Composers do so less often, and all too rarely acknowledge it when they do! In this single movement piano trio the reference to a major composer of the 20C is embedded in the music's very mode of construction, essentially exploring a composer's working method in the light of the new computer tools able to prototype musical design. There's no attempt here to reflect the chosen composer's sound world or theoretical aspects surrounding his music, purely his approach to getting to that point where specific thematic material begins to appear.
After Hindemith is also a reflection on the medium of the piano trio in our time. In its composition two very particular influences were present: Beethoven's Op.1 No.2 trio in which the composer boldy moves away the model his teacher Haydn invented; Alexander Goehr's remarkable Piano Trio which explores that composer's discovery of American music, and Charles Ives in particular. Nigel Morgan's piano trio was written for Martin Storey and the Gould Trio. Paul Hindemith, as far as we know, never wrote a piano trio . . .

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.