Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Objects of Curiosity (Supercity)
for String Quartet (with digital media)
Scenario from Will Alsop's SuperCity exhibition 2005 at the Urbis Centre for Urban Culture

In the past twenty years the medium of the string quartet has been re-imagined thanks to the Kronos Quartet. They have inspired a new generation of string players who have commissioned new work, made collaborations with musicians from other cultures, explored improvisation and devised work, adopted amplification, sound
projection and electronic treatments, and most recently brought in elements of digital visual media and communications technology.

Objects of Curiosity (Supercity) is composed to suit this new kind of string quartet, but does not altogether rule out more traditional approaches to the medium. A second work in the Objects of Curiosity series - The Prisoner for double bass and piano - was completed in 2007.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.