Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
In Finem Psalmus David (Psalm 19)
For four solo voices (SATB)

This psalm setting for 4 solo voices was composed in 2002 for Astrid Kvalbein, Anine Kruse, Magnus R. Stavland and Kjetil Grøtting. These four singers from Det Norske Solistkor, Oslo, formed the solo quartet of Schizophonia, a large-scale choral and instrumental work co-commission by BBC Wales and the ILIOS Festival Norway.

The music was devised using the interaction of Symbolic Composer, the first vocal score by the composer to be created in its entirety using this computer environment. In this setting the pitch and tonality material has been formed from a symbolic rendering of the white-noise fractal. The following scale in different transpositions is the basis of the tonalities employed throughout the work.

In composing this work it was the intention from the outset that the music would be playable by instruments or a combination of instruments and voices, echoing the practice of Renaissance times. An instrumental version of this setting can be found in Quatour des Timbres.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.