Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
The Arrival of Spring
for wind quintet

The Arrival of Spring in Woldgate, East Yorkshire in 2011 (twenty-eleven) is the full title of 52 images by the artist David Hockney. 51 images were created on an iPad and printed on paper (67.3 x 50.2 cm) and there is one an oil painting on 32 canvases (each 91.4 x 121.9 cm) 365.8 x 975.4 cm.

The Arrival of Spring for woodwind quintet is presented here as part 1 January & February, a musical rendering of just 11 of the iPad images. Lasting around 17 minutes it is about one quarter of the projected duration of the final work, a duration somewhat unusual in the repertoire of the woodwind quintet.

The project was a response to the establishment of a permanent exhibition of the 51 iPad images in a gallery at Salts Mill, Saltaire, West Yorkshire, UK, a location already well known for its large collection of work by David Hockney. A performance is imagined taking place in this fine space with the audience able to parambulate informally amongst the images. In other locations it is hoped that the audience will bring their own tablets or iPad computers and follow the work on screen as it evolves. 

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.