Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Chicago Quartet #1 (After Telemann)
For ensemble

Opening of Chicago Quartet #1

The four projected Chicago Quartets are inspired and to some extent modelled on twelve compositions by George Friedrich Telemann known as the ‘Paris ‘ Quartets. It follows directly from Nigel Morgan's Twelve Fantasias without bass for a soprano instrument itself based on Telemann's 12 Fantasias for flute.

Although titled as quartets this new music is actually scored for six players, two being part of an optional continuo. The work exists in two forms, one for a modern ensemble of flute, violin, bass clarinet, violoncello, electric piano and vibraphone, a second for baroque ensemble for baroque flute, violin, viola da gamba, violoncello, harpsichord and baroque guitar. Telemann's own edition is in four parts, but is commonly performed with at least five instruments.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.