Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Twelve Fantasias
for solo instrument without bass, after G. F. Telemann

Telemann's first fantasia.

These twelve solo fantasias were inspired by the Australian recorder virtuoso Genevieve Lacey. They were composed during April and May 2016 and are a blend of ‘hand-crafted’ composition and algorithmic determination. Telemann’s model, often considered the flautists’ equivalent of the Bach’s Well Tempered Clavier, is a work of extraordinary invention and purpose. His collection contains remarkably several fugues and displays the use and ‘play’ of affections.

I have kept to the spirit of Telemann’s composition in acknowledging these affections, which govern the mood and character of each piece. I have also retained the sequence of ‘root notes’ Telemann uses, but have developed a sequence of interval collections devised from patterns 59-70 of the Thesaurus of Scales and Melodic Patterns by Nicholas Slonimsky.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.