Welcome to Nigel Morgan
Main Menu  
Shoals: Sons de Mar
For student ensembles

Surrounding the composition of Sounding the Deep for bass voice and orchestra are a series of new pieces for student ensembles known as Shoals. These six works, commissioned by the Hull Philharmonic Society have been composed for ensembles in Hull, the East Riding and Lincolnshire for performance as part of the premiere of Sounding the Deep in March 2012.

The six ensembles that make up Shoals were drawn from across the Hull region, the East Riding of Yorkshire and North Lincolnshire. The commissioned called for five-minute pieces that could include an optional part for electroacoustic sounds derived from sounds of the sea, sounds that are increasingly the subject of research and concern across the world. The ensembles will collaborate with students from Hull University on devising suitable electronic accompaniments to their pieces.

Page << | 1 | 2 | 3 | >>

Nigel Morgan, Prudential Buildings, 55 Westgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 1BW, United Kingdom Tel: 01924 383017 e-mail: tonalitysystems@mac.com

This website and associated content 2013 Nigel Morgan unless otherwise stated.